Krebs on Security

In-depth security news and investigation

Brian Krebs

  • About the Author
  • Blog Advertising
  • 23
    Jul 12

    DoItQuick: Fast Domains for Dirty Deeds

    A new service offered in the cybercriminal underground is geared toward spammers, scammers and malware purveyors interested in mass-registering dozens of dodgy domains in one go.

    DoItQuick offers mass registration of malware domains.

    The service — doitquick.net — will auto-register up to 15 domains simultaneously, choosing randomly named domains unless the customer specifies otherwise. DoItQuick sells two classes of domains: “white” domains that are “guaranteed” to stay registered for at least a year; and “black” domains that customers can use for illicit purposes and expect to last between 2 and 30 days before they are canceled.

    This service makes it quite clear why customers might prefer the “black” domain registration service: “Domains for black deeds – these domains are registered for limited terms, from 2 to 30 days (average duration is about a week). Such domains are used for black and gray deeds. Low prices, fast registration! It is ideal for redirects, exploit packs, traffic, flood, botnets and other similar stuff. Domain names are checked for getting into blacklists, trackers and Spamhaus.”

    DoItQuick refuses to guarantee registrations for domains purchased under its “white” classification if customers decide to use them to host exploits or other bad stuff.

    “Domains for white – a domain that live year until paid off,” the site instruction. ”They are ONLY for white matter, no viruses or other things!”

    Fees for the black domains (without guarantee) run about $5, and payment is made via virtual currencies such as Webmoney and Liberty Reserve. When I told the system to auto-generate five domains for me, it suggested five Web site names in the .org registry; all of the domains were simply two or three random words run together, like “tweetdecksprefilled.org,” and “scriptair.org”.

    This offering is another reminder that, where there is demand for a particular good or service in the computer crime underworld, someone will step up and create an automated way of meeting that need.

    Related Posts:
    • Triple DDoS vs. KrebsOnSecurity
    • WHOIS Problem Reporting System to Gain Privacy Option
    • Pill Gangs Besmirch LegitScript Founder
    • SaintD-SPM Chats: May 2007 – Sept. 2007
    • Services Let Malware Purveyors Check Their Web Reputation

    Tags: doitquick.net, Liberty Reserve, webmoney

    This entry was posted on Monday, July 23rd, 2012 at 12:01 am and is filed under A Little Sunshine, Web Fraud 2.0. You can follow any comments to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. Both comments and pings are currently closed.

    19 comments

    1. Michele
      July 23, 2012 at 10:04 am

      The website is now redirecting to Google.

    2. Kyle Collins
      July 23, 2012 at 10:29 am

      The domains that are set as “black” are carded. So if you purchased through there, I’d suggest refunding.

      No other reason for registrars to be locking within 2 days.

      Redirect to google is now gone, and the sites just not there anymore.

      Dmitry Kunickiy (javofasta@gmail.com)
      982 chester ave
      New York
      ,220121
      US
      Tel. +1.8889002983

      Is on the WhoIS info.

      • C
        August 13, 2012 at 6:04 pm

        FWIW, WHOIS for doitquick.net now leads to

        Registrant:
        N/A
        Dmitry Kunickiy (javofasta@gmail.com)
        ul podlesnaya d.29
        Perm
        ,614097
        RU
        Tel. +7.9656018062

    3. Nic
      July 23, 2012 at 1:15 pm

      I originally left a comment analyzing the bad networks providing service to reg3.ru, which provides DNS service to the doitquick.net domain, but that comment didn’t go through. (Slower website today? ddos attacks?)

      So I just decided that instead of blackholing reg3.ru in my local dnscache, I would just blackhole all of .ru. It’s already done. Now any domain that depends on .ru in any way will fail to resolve for me. This includes .com domains controlled by .ru nameservers.

      This is in addition to .su being blocked for months now with zero FPs.

      What a wretched hive of scum and villainy.

      Anyone (using Unix) can do this as well. Install on 127.0.0.1 dnscache, unbound, or dnsmasq, and configure it to return NXDOMAIN or SERVFAIL for .ru and .su. That alone will eliminate _tons_ of problems.

      • mishka
        July 23, 2012 at 1:44 pm

        Kim Il-sung would be proud of you, man

        • Nic
          July 23, 2012 at 4:24 pm

          Ignoring problems won’t fix them; they’ll only multiply.

          • mishka
            July 23, 2012 at 5:41 pm

            According to your logic ALL black people must be jailed “before problems are multiplied” :)

            Disrupting network operations because of your own superstitions is highly unprofessional. I do hope you are just some local petty tyrant, not person in charge of any decent size network

            • Neej
              July 24, 2012 at 4:06 am

              You are aware that he’s referring to his local DNS cache meaning it will only effect computers on whatever network he’s on right LOL … it’s hardly a matter of internet freedoms being violated or whatever you’re trying to say.

              • Nic
                July 24, 2012 at 12:43 pm

                Exactly. As noted, it’s running on 127.0.0.1. (But I enjoyed the attempted dig at my competence!) :-)

                That said, I do believe almost everyone should block .su (the Soviet Union) in their resolvers, which is recommended by abuse.ch, one of the most respected sites in abuse. It’s an illegitimate TLD and an abuse factory.

                http://www.abuse.ch/?p=3581

                Small businesses would probably do well blocking all of .ru as well depending on their users and customer base. Not possible for universities and other large networks.

                I’ve been blocking all of .ru since yesterday. No bad interactions so far.

      • picachu
        July 23, 2012 at 3:35 pm

        I have no idea why would someone want to do this unless they are a russophobe.
        It is much easier to use .com domains for criminals, since .ru domains cost more and require more verification

    4. David Williams
      July 23, 2012 at 11:24 pm

      I’d think this sort of service would be pop up on agin and again regardless of who takes the domain down. It seems as stated that if there is a market for a service the void will easily be filled by a company or inidivual offering said service.

      It’s really just economics 101.

    5. Neej
      July 24, 2012 at 4:10 am

      $5 is a pretty decent price for a .org domain. Just out of curiosity how much were the “white” domains going for?

      • BrianKrebs
        July 24, 2012 at 8:31 am

        About double that. I believe the previous commenter is right: The black domains are carded; there really isn’t any other explanation for domains that would be revoked in 2 days.

        • Michele
          July 24, 2012 at 8:38 am

          $5 is way below the price charged by the registry, so I’m not 100% sure how they could charge so little.. While it would be possible to use the AGP to get a refund on *some* domains, you couldn’t use it that extensively

          • SeymourB
            July 24, 2012 at 1:24 pm

            A carded domain, I believe, means they use a stolen credit card to register the domain name, which get revoked in short order when the stolen credit card’s charges get reversed.

            Since (as Brian has previously reported) credit cards are available in bulk for less than $5 each, a portion (large portion?) of the “registration fee” is going straight into the scammer’s pocket.

    6. Dave
      July 24, 2012 at 9:21 pm

      DoltQuick? So it’s a service targeting ricers?

    7. Adam
      August 3, 2012 at 8:51 am

      But why would they just not by domains the normal way, through godaddy or something?

      And also what on earth to card thieves do anyway, they cant buy anything because the bank tracks them, its not like they send stuff to their house do they, that would be madness.

      Awesome job with the blog Brian.

    8. PC.Tech
      August 13, 2012 at 3:56 pm

      FYI…

      Something evil on 178.63.195.128/26
      - http://blog.dynamoo.com/2012/08/something-evil-on-1786319512826.html
      “…A look at the 178.63.195.128/26 range (178.63.195.128 – 178.63.195.191) shows several suspicious websites with domains apparently generated by -DoItQuick- … quite a lot of suspect sites have recently been moved from this range to point at 127.0.0.1 instead, a common trick when malcious domains needs to be pointed somewhere else quickly.
      The registrant for this block is:
      inetnum: 178.63.195.128 – 178.63.195.191
      address: RUSSIAN FEDERATION
      178.63.195.163…
      178.63.195.167…
      178.63.195.168…
      178.63.195.170…
      178.63.195.171…”
      .

    9. John
      August 14, 2012 at 6:24 pm

      They might not be carded. Registrars have the ability to test domains for a couple days. Domain squatters use this frequently to test out new domains for traffic.